From On Seeking The Meaning of Life, Part 4: From A Su Classic, Gitie House, April 10, 2012

Su literature has many beautiful mystical works dedicated to describing the types of seekers, the different types
of journeys and the quest for oneness with God and the meaning of life.

The book is an epic allegory of a seeker’s journey to God,
or enlightenment. Birds from many species gather to go in search of their ultimate great and mighty King – the Simurgh. The legendary Hoopoe acts as their leader advising them through the long and arduous journey through the seven valleys of search, love, understanding (mystic apprehension), independence (detachment), unity, bewilderment (astonishment), ful llment in annihilation (total poverty
and nothingness).

Along the way most birds give up, either due to their attachment, such as the nightingale to the rose, and the duck to water, or through their sense of false humility of being too worthless to entertain such noble aspirations. Some are just too weak to last the distance. As the birds face their trials and tribulations the wise hoopoe counsels them with advice in the form of legendary tales teaching them lessons of the spiritual way on purity, austerity, gifts for the gods, humility, aspiration, loyalty, justice, majesty and many other qualities that tend to box those on the quest.

So long as we do not die to ourselves,
and so long as we identify with someone or something,
we shall never be free.
The spiritual way is not for those wrapped up in exterior life

Only those birds who are tirelessly passionate in their search, overcoming fear of retribution and death, choosing courageously when facing the unknown, letting go of their inner and outer desires, freeing themselves of pride, vanity and ego and who joyously give up their sense of self in uniting with the Simurgh, end up seeing the light of lights, learning its secrets and gaining immortality.